Malaysia’s 2nd independence

I had done my duty. I wasn’t confident. But I was hopeful. I should have known, high hopes only lead to heartbreak.

I waited long for the results. The Election Commission (EC) seemed to be deliberately being slow in announcing seats won by opposition and swift for those won by the incumbent government. In the end, the sad news emerged: The incumbent government – racist and accused to be corrupt – has won and will rule for another 5 years.

The worse thing that etched in my memory was how people reacted to the results. The opposition actually won the popular vote despite losing the elections, and it was largely attributed to the so-called Chinese tsunami. The headlines of the incumbent ruling party’s mouthpiece was, “Apa lagi Cina mau?”, what more do the Chinese want?

Hatred and racism were stewing, blaming the Chinese and how they should pay. And most of these toxic speeches were from people close to me. It was devastating to me. I thought we were all humans. I thought Muslims should be good examples of Islam by compassion.

The first day of work after that elections, I was very sombre. I skipped lunch and went straight to surau, the prayer room. I took my ablution, splashed water on my face, cupped my face with my hands then sobbed. I was the only one, I let it out. Why Allah? Why these racists, oppressors are the ones who will rule the land? I googled some Quran verses, and two of them deeply touched me, as if Allah spoke directly to me. He must have.

Fussilat (chapter 41), verse 34:

Good and evil are not equal. Repel evil with what is better, then behold! Your enemies will become close friends.

Al-Maa-idah (chapter 5), verse 8:

O you who believe, stand firm for Allah as witnesses of justice, and do not let your hatred to some people prevent you to do justice. Be just, that is nearer to piety. And fear Allah, He is All-Aware of what you do.

I memorized these verses and recite it regularly until this day. It has become my strength.

Five long years has since passed. The ruling government seemed to be more corrupt and drawing more opposition even from within. Those people near to me who were staunch racists are now against the party they formerly supported.

But EC were never going to make it easy. They set the polling day on Wednesday, the most inconvenient day of the week. They sent the postal votes late, making it almost impossible to return the votes in time. Long queues that did not make it by 5:00 PM. And many more I don’t bother to list here.

But Malaysians were strong and united. They did fundraising for people travel back home to vote. Strangers gathered to pass their postal votes. Airlines offered discounted tickets and extra flights. Outlets offered freebies and discounts for voters. The solidarity can be felt.

Again, the results were late again. But people stayed up. Nothing mattered more. In the end, it was a landslide. It was not a Malay tsunami or Chinese or urban or youth, it was the people’s tsunami. Never in the entire history of the independent country they had a different party ruling them. This time they will have one.

It was unprecedented. Next morning, people got up early, despite sleeping really late the night before. The air felt different. This is a new Malaysia.

Anywhere I went, I looked at the inked fingers, I looked at their faces, everyone seemed to be cheerful, happy, half-smiling back at me. This is more than a public holiday, more than Malaysia winning the regional football tournament. Everyone seemed to be silently acknowledging each other. We may not know each other, but we are not strangers anymore, we were united yesterday, and we did it.

Epilogue

After I finished my upper secondary school certification exams (SPM), I went to a motivational camp, and we were made to share our happiest moments. I can’t think of much, so I said my happiest moments was when I got really good results for my lower secondary school certification (PMR), and then my SPM trial.

But back then, I almost expected those good results. Just a couple of years after that, my happiest moment did came, when Liverpool won the UEFA Champions League, the biggest club level football prize.

The thing is, my happiest moment in my life was nothing of my own doing.

Now I’m a father of three, and any parent would testify there is no feeling that can compare than your child’s birth.

But this elections is definitely up there, in the highlights of my life. I played my part, part of a huge nationwide movement that tells our oppressors, we will not condone anymore. The rules were not fair, but we played by the unfair rules anyway, and won! We won! For the first time ever!

All the ceremonies that I used to be bored, press conferences, swear in, cabinet unveiling, I now follow with great interest.

People are still bringing up the race cards, but why should I care. Now I know they are the minority.

I’m acutely lacking sleep, as so most Malaysians. But I’m working tomorrow, unlike the rest of the country. Because I’m in an opposition state now, and they decided to declare their public holidays on different dates. But I don’t mind. Everything seems sunny now.

It is almost nothing will spoil my sunshine. Not even if Liverpool lose their upcoming UEFA Champions League final.

GE14
Credit to Wan Azizah 2018.

Leave a comment